The First International Conference "QUALITY AND COMPETENCE 2013”

The International Conference “Quality and Competence 2013" was held in the hotel Metropol, Ohrid, R. Macedonia from 13 to 15 June 2013, in organization of the Institute for Accreditation of the Republic of Macedonia (IARM) and the Macedonian Association of Laboratories (MAKLAB).
The Conference had a considerable interest among interested parties, especially laboratories and inspection bodies and also state institutions.
The event was officially opened by:
- Mr Stevo Temelkoski, Deputy Minister of Environment and Physical Planning of the Government of the Republic of Macedonia,
- Mr. Dejan Krnjaic, State Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture of the Republic of Serbia,
- Mr. Jiri Sobola, President of the European Federation of National Associations of Measurement, Testing and Analytical Laboratories EUROLAB,
- Mr Borche Razmoski, President of the Council of the IARM, and
- MSc Magdalena Trajkovska Trpevska, President of MAKLAB.
Representatives from the Ministries of Economy of the Republic of Macedonia and Croatia had their presentations, too.
Over 30 expertise papers from national and international authors were presented in accordance with the thematic units:
- Role and importance of accreditation
- European legislation and quality infrastructure
- Experience of quality systems implementation
- Role of laboratory testing of food quality and safety
- Testing and control of the quality of the living and working environment.
The purpose of the Conference was to provide contribution to the development and improvement of the quality and competence of laboratories and inspection bodies, laboratory practice and experience exchange between laboratories, inspection bodies and institutions in the region and beyond and certainly to improve the overall quality of life.
Under the framework of this event, the IARM hosted the regular Regional Meeting of the Accreditation Bodies. This Meeting is regularly organized in line with the Agreements on Bilateral Cooperation of the National Accreditation Bodies from the region (Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Albania, Kosovo, Turkey, Bulgaria and Moldova).